A neurotechnology company developing implantable brain-computer interfaces that let people with paralysis control external devices with their thoughts.
Named as a constituent of Morningstar PitchBook Unicorn 20 Index, Morningstar PitchBook Global Unicorn, Morningstar PitchBook US Unicorn 100, Morningstar PitchBook Global Artificial Intelligence Unicorn and Forge Accuidity Private Market Index — a fact about those indexes, not an endorsement.
Holding an offer for Neuralink? Put its numbers next to these. Check my offer →
PrePost's proprietary index, combining capital-raising momentum, market-pricing confidence, and investor strength into one comparable score from 0 to 100. It lets you compare companies on those three measures; it is not a rating of the investment. How it works
Pre-revenue medical device company still in human-trial stage; valuation driven by regulatory/clinical milestones and Musk-brand premium rather than fundamentals. The gap between the primary Series E price ($9.6B) and the Series E-LV/secondary mark ($28.6B) signals a thin, sentiment-driven secondary market. Oman's sovereign wealth fund (Oman Investment Authority) confirmed a Neuralink investment around May 2026 (amount and valuation undisclosed) -- part of a pattern of Gulf sovereign funds backing Musk companies. Widely-circulated claims of a '$12-15B next round expected in 2026' and a second '$650M Series E closed April 2026' could not be traced to any real article and are almost certainly aggregator artifacts (the latter likely a garbled restatement of the actual June 2025 round) -- not included here. Neuralink is explicitly separate from the SpaceX-xAI merger targeting a combined ~$1.25T IPO.
Low: Revelio Labs, Mar 2026. High: Tracxn, Jul 2026.
As of 2026-09-13 · live via greenhouse's public job board · ≈13.1% of the 498–708 estimated team
+6 more roles across 3 other teams.
See all open roles at Neuralink →Neuralink builds an implantable brain-computer interface: the N1 Implant, a skull-mounted, wireless, rechargeable unit, and the R1 Robot, which places the implant's electrode threads in the brain. It is in early human trials and has vision and speech-restoration projects. Outcomes cited publicly come from the company; no peer-reviewed clinical results from it were found.
| Date | Type | What |
|---|---|---|
| Jan 28, 2026 | Milestone | Company reported 21 enrolled in trials worldwide, after three implanted participants on February 5, 2025 and twelve in September 2025 |
| Dec 31, 2025 | Milestone | Musk said Neuralink would begin high-volume production and move to an entirely automated surgical procedure in 2026; a statement of intent |
| Jul 31, 2025 | Milestone | Company announced GB-PRIME |
| May 2025 | Milestone | Company announced FDA Breakthrough Device designation for speech restoration (May 1); UAE-PRIME, with Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, lists a May 9 start |
| Nov 2024 | Milestone | Company announced Health Canada approval for CAN-PRIME (Nov 20) and the CONVOY robotic-arm study (Nov 24) |
| Sep 17, 2024 | Milestone | Company announced FDA Breakthrough Device designation for Blindsight, its vision project; a designation is not an approval |
| May 8, 2024 | Milestone | Company disclosed thread retraction in the first participant's brain, reducing effective electrodes; it said software changes restored performance |
| Jan 2024 | Milestone | PRIME early-feasibility study lists a January 9 start; first participant, Noland Arbaugh, implanted at Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix |
| May 25, 2023 | Milestone | The company said the FDA had cleared its first human study |
| Mar 2023 | Milestone | Reuters reported that the FDA had rejected an application filed in early 2022 |
| Jul 12, 2019 | Patent filed | US 11,107,703 B2 Monolithic, biocompatible feedthrough for hermetically sealed electronics and methods of manufacture |
| Jul 2019 | Milestone | bioRxiv preprint sets out the approach: flexible threads, up to 3,072 electrodes on 96 threads, an insertion robot; published in JMIR that October |
| 2019 | Paper | An Integrated Brain-Machine Interface Platform With Thousands of Channels |
| 2019 | Paper | An integrated brain-machine interface platform with thousands of channels |
| Sep 14, 2018 | Patent filed | US 11,103,695 B2 Device implantation using a cartridge |
| Sep 14, 2018 | Patent filed | US 11,291,508 B2 Computer vision techniques |
| Sep 14, 2018 | Patent filed | US 12,539,083 B2 Electrode fabrication and design |
| Mar 16, 2018 | Patent filed | US 10,824,579 B2 Network-on-chip for neurological data |
| 2016 | Milestone | Neuralink founded |
Patents. The five listed granted U.S. patents, all assigned to Neuralink Corp, cover a network-on-chip for neurological data, device implantation using a cartridge, a feedthrough for hermetically sealed electronics, computer-vision techniques, and electrode fabrication and design; they are a sample.
No acquisitions on record.
Neuralink Corp., founded in 2016 and led by Elon Musk, builds an implantable brain-computer interface. Its trial registration describes two devices: the N1 Implant, a skull-mounted, wireless, rechargeable unit, and the R1 Robot, which places the implant's electrode threads in the brain. Press coverage of the first implant put the N1 at 1,024 electrodes on 64 threads. The approach was first set out in a July 2019 bioRxiv preprint, published that October in the Journal of Medical Internet Research as a white paper: flexible threads in arrays of up to 3,072 electrodes across 96 threads, a robot inserting six threads (192 electrodes) a minute while avoiding surface blood vessels, and custom low-power chips for amplification and digitisation. It is the only company-authored journal paper PrePost found.
Reuters reported in March 2023 that the FDA had rejected an application filed in early 2022; on May 25, 2023 the company said the FDA had cleared its first human study. The PRIME early-feasibility study (NCT06429735) lists a January 9, 2024 start, and the first participant, Noland Arbaugh, was implanted that month at Barrow Neurological Institute in Phoenix. On May 8, 2024 the company disclosed that a number of threads had retracted from his brain in the weeks after surgery, reducing the number of effective electrodes; it said software changes restored performance. A second participant was implanted in July 2024. The company announced FDA Breakthrough Device designations for Blindsight, its vision project, on September 17, 2024 and for speech restoration on May 1, 2025; a designation speeds review and is not an approval. It announced Health Canada approval for CAN-PRIME on November 20, 2024, the CONVOY robotic-arm study on November 24, 2024, and GB-PRIME on July 31, 2025. UAE-PRIME, with Cleveland Clinic Abu Dhabi, lists a May 9, 2025 start.
The company reported three implanted participants on February 5, 2025, twelve in September 2025 and 21 enrolled in trials worldwide on January 28, 2026, per its own posts and Reuters. It has not published peer-reviewed clinical results that PrePost could find; outcomes cited publicly, including a statement of no serious device-related adverse events, come from the company. Musk said on December 31, 2025 that Neuralink would begin high-volume production and move to an entirely automated surgical procedure in 2026; that is a statement of intent. Neuralink announced a $650 million Series E on June 2, 2025.
The five granted U.S. patents listed below, all assigned to Neuralink Corp, cover a network-on-chip for neurological data (priority March 2018), device implantation using a cartridge, a feedthrough for hermetically sealed electronics (priority July 2019), computer-vision techniques, and electrode fabrication and design, granted February 3, 2026 from a September 2018 priority. They are a sample, not a full count. PrePost found no acquisitions by Neuralink.
Profile as of Sep 19, 2026.
| Round | Date | Valuation | Lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| Series E | 2025-06-02 | $9.6B-66% | No single lead -- a syndicate of ARK Invest, Founders Fund, Sequoia Capital, and Thrive Capital (also DFJ Growth, G42, Human Capital, Lightspeed, QIA, Valor Equity Partners, Vy Capital) |
| Series E-LV | 2025-06-01 | $28.6B+717% | Not applicable -- this is a Forge Global secondary-market price mark aggregating private secondary trades, not a VC-led primary tranche with a term sheet or a named lead |
| Series D | 2023-08-01 | $3.5B | Founders Fund |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2021-07-23 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2019-04-26 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2017-08-15 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
No upcoming rounds currently reported.
These are on the public record as giving exposure to Neuralink. Buying one means owning a stake in the vehicle, not in Neuralink, and the vehicle takes fees along the way.
| Vehicle | How you get exposure | Share of the vehicle | Who can buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| ARK Venture Fund Interval fund | Held directly | 1.54% of the fund | US investors, through brokers that carry the fund. Not exchange-traded. |
| Stableton Morningstar PitchBook Unicorn 20 Certificate or fund, by country | Through the index it tracks one of 19 constituents of Morningstar PitchBook Unicorn 20 Index | — | Not published |
On the public record means the vehicle exists in a regulatory filing or a public product document. It does not mean PrePost has vetted it, or checked that it suits you. What each of these really is, and what comes off your return, is in the instruments primer.
Ordered by how much of the vehicle this company is, never by payment. How we stay independent.
| Status | S-1 Not Filed |
|---|---|
| Notes | No Neuralink-specific IPO timeline reported by any tier-1 outlet. Explicitly not part of the SpaceX-xAI merger targeting a combined ~$1.25T IPO around mid-2026. |
| Source | CNBC, Feb 2 2026 (SpaceX/xAI merger); no primary Neuralink-specific IPO source found |
Polymarket/Kalshi rows are live market-implied odds, not a PrePost prediction; everything else is a cited news signal. PrePost doesn't publish its own IPO forecast.