A cloud-based data and AI platform ('lakehouse') that helps enterprises store, process, and analyze large-scale data and build machine learning and AI applications on top of it.
Named as a constituent of Morningstar PitchBook Unicorn 20 Index, Morningstar PitchBook Unicorn 30, Morningstar PitchBook Global Unicorn, Morningstar PitchBook US Unicorn 100, Morningstar PitchBook Global Artificial Intelligence Unicorn, Morningstar PitchBook US Modern Market 100, Hiive50 Index and Forge Accuidity Private Market Index — a fact about those indexes, not an endorsement.
Holding an offer for Databricks? Put its numbers next to these. Check my offer →
PrePost's proprietary index, combining capital-raising momentum, market-pricing confidence, and investor strength into one comparable score from 0 to 100. It lets you compare companies on those three measures; it is not a rating of the investment. How it works
Funding roundsSecondary market price
Crossed $7B annualized revenue run-rate in Q2 2026, +80% YoY; adjusted cash-flow positive for the trailing 12 months. CEO Ali Ghodsi says Databricks still intends to IPO eventually but is prioritizing AI investment now given abundant private capital; he called 2026 'a terrible year to go public' given a crowded IPO calendar and floated 2027 as the earliest plausible window. No S-1 filed as of Sept 2026. Series L's $4B headline figure is the announced primary tranche; the Feb 2026 close grew the package to >$7B including a separate debt facility.
Low: Tracxn, Dec 2025. High: Revelio Labs, Mar 2026.
As of 2026-09-13 · live via greenhouse's public job board · ≈8.8% of the 5,679–14,624 estimated team
+281 more roles across 37 other teams.
See all open roles at Databricks →Databricks runs a hosted service around Apache Spark, an engine that runs SQL, streaming, machine-learning and graph workloads, with Delta Lake as its storage layer and Unity Catalog for governance. Since 2023 it has added model-training tooling, its own open-weights language model, a managed Postgres database called Lakebase and a security product, Lakewatch.
| Date | Type | What |
|---|---|---|
| Aug 11, 2026 | Acquisition | Electric (team joining Neon at Databricks; Electric Cloud being wound down) |
| Jun 16, 2026 | Acquisition | Panther |
| Mar 24, 2026 | Acquisition | Antimatter (disclosed on this date; TechCrunch reports the deal closed in 2025) |
| Mar 24, 2026 | Acquisition | SiftD.ai (small team; described by TechCrunch as an apparent acqui-hire) |
| Mar 11, 2026 | Acquisition | Quotient AI |
| Oct 1, 2025 | Acquisition | Mooncake Labs |
| Aug 22, 2025 | Acquisition | Tecton (agreement announced) |
| Jun 11, 2025 | Milestone | Lakebase, a managed Postgres database built on Neon's technology, entered public preview |
| May 14, 2025 | Acquisition | Neon (agreement announced) |
| Apr 2025 | Acquisition | Fennel (team hire; announcement does not use the word acquisition) |
| Feb 4, 2025 | Acquisition | BladeBridge (technology and talent) |
| Jun 12, 2024 | Milestone | Unity Catalog open-sourced under Apache 2.0 |
| Jun 4, 2024 | Acquisition | Tabular |
| Mar 27, 2024 | Milestone | DBRX, an open-weights mixture-of-experts language model, released; TechCrunch reported it fell short of GPT-4 in most areas |
| Mar 19, 2024 | Acquisition | Lilac (announced as Lilac joining Databricks, team and technology) |
| Jan 30, 2024 | Acquisition | Einblick (announced as the team joining Databricks) |
| Oct 23, 2023 | Acquisition | Arcion (agreement announced) |
| Jun 26, 2023 | Acquisition | MosaicML (agreement announced) |
| Jun 13, 2023 | Acquisition | Rubicon (team hire) |
| May 3, 2023 | Acquisition | Okera |
| Oct 13, 2022 | Acquisition | Datajoy (announced as the company and team joining Databricks) |
| Apr 25, 2022 | Acquisition | Cortex Labs (announced as the company joining Databricks; the word acquisition is not used) |
| 2022 | Paper | Photon: A Fast Query Engine for Lakehouse Systems |
| Oct 6, 2021 | Acquisition | 8080 Labs (bamboolib) |
| May 26, 2021 | Milestone | Unity Catalog, the governance layer, announced |
| 2021 | Milestone | Founders' Lakehouse paper (CIDR 2021) argues open file formats on object storage can replace separate data lakes and warehouses |
| 2021 | Paper | Lakehouse: A New Generation of Open Platforms that Unify Data Warehousing and Advanced Analytics |
| Jun 24, 2020 | Milestone | Delta Engine, including the Photon vectorised execution engine, announced; SQL Analytics, which uses that engine, followed on November 12, 2020 |
| Jun 24, 2020 | Acquisition | Redash |
| 2020 | Paper | Delta Lake: High-Performance ACID Table Storage over Cloud Object Stores |
| Apr 24, 2019 | Milestone | Delta Lake released under the Apache 2.0 licence |
| Jun 5, 2018 | Milestone | MLflow, a model-lifecycle tool, released as open source |
| May 23, 2018 | Patent filed | US 10,769,130 Update and query of a large collection of files that represent a single dataset stored on a blob store |
| Nov 10, 2017 | Patent filed | US 10,606,675 Query watchdog |
| 2017 | Milestone | Delta Lake first offered to customers, according to the company's VLDB 2020 paper |
| 2016 | Milestone | Founders' Communications of the ACM paper sets out how Spark extends MapReduce with resilient distributed datasets so one engine runs many workloads |
| 2016 | Paper | Apache Spark: a unified engine for big data processing |
| Dec 22, 2015 | Patent filed | US 10,474,736 Multiple display views for a notebook |
| Mar 20, 2015 | Patent filed | US 9,769,032 Cluster instance management system |
| 2015 | Paper | Spark SQL: Relational Data Processing in Spark |
| Oct 29, 2014 | Patent filed | US 9,760,602 System for exploring data in a database |
| 2013 | Milestone | Databricks started by seven UC Berkeley researchers; its first blog post, in October 2013, called it the original Apache Spark team's company |
| 2009 | Milestone | Spark began at UC Berkeley |
Patents. The five listed patents were all filed by Databricks itself and concern notebooks, cluster management, query monitoring and the Delta transaction log.
Databricks was started in 2013 by a group of seven UC Berkeley researchers, among them Ion Stoica (its first chief executive), Ali Ghodsi and Matei Zaharia; its first blog post, in October 2013, called it the original Apache Spark team's company. Spark began at Berkeley in 2009. As the founders set out in a 2016 Communications of the ACM paper, it extends the MapReduce model with a data-sharing abstraction (resilient distributed datasets) so that one engine can run SQL, streaming, machine-learning and graph workloads. The earliest Databricks patents cover the hosted service around Spark: a parameterised data-exploration system (priority October 2014), a cluster-instance manager (March 2015) and multiple display views for a notebook (December 2015).
The storage layer is Delta Lake, an ACID table format over cloud object stores built on a transaction log. The company's VLDB 2020 paper says it was first offered to customers in 2017 and open-sourced in 2019; the release of April 24, 2019 put it under the Apache 2.0 licence. The matching patent, US 10,769,130 (priority May 2018), claims log-based handling of concurrent transactions on a file collection in a blob store. MLflow, a model-lifecycle tool, was released as open source on June 5, 2018. Delta Engine, which includes Photon, a vectorised execution engine written in C++ that keeps Spark's APIs, was announced on June 24, 2020, and SQL Analytics, which uses that engine, on November 12, 2020. The founders' 'Lakehouse' paper (CIDR 2021) argues that open file formats on object storage can replace separate data lakes and warehouses; a Photon paper followed at SIGMOD 2022. Unity Catalog, the governance layer, was announced on May 26, 2021 and open-sourced under Apache 2.0 on June 12, 2024.
Since 2023 the company has announced a run of acquisitions and team hires. MosaicML ($1.3 billion, announced June 2023) supplied model-training tooling; on March 27, 2024 Databricks released DBRX, a mixture-of-experts language model with open weights, which the company says outperformed established open models on standard benchmarks and which TechCrunch reported fell short of GPT-4 in most areas. Tabular (June 2024) brought in the original creators of Apache Iceberg, the other main open table format. Neon (reported at about $1 billion, agreed May 2025) is the technology under Lakebase, a managed Postgres database in public preview since June 11, 2025; Mooncake Labs (October 2025) and the Electric team (August 2026) were added to that effort. Antimatter and SiftD.ai, both disclosed on March 24, 2026, sit behind Lakewatch, a security product then in private preview, and the Panther acquisition (agreed June 16, 2026) was completed on August 3, 2026. Fennel (April 2025), Tecton (agreed August 2025, paid in Databricks shares according to Reuters) and Quotient AI (March 2026) concern real-time features and agent evaluation.
The five patents listed here were all filed by Databricks itself and are shown as active on Google Patents; they concern notebooks, cluster management, query monitoring and the Delta transaction log. Delta Lake and the Unity Catalog server are published under the Apache 2.0 licence and Spark is an Apache Software Foundation project, so those components are available to other vendors as well.
Profile as of Sep 19, 2026.
| Round | Date | Valuation | Lead |
|---|---|---|---|
| Strategic round | 2026-08-13 | $190.0B | Coatue (sole lead), with Blackstone, MGX, T. Rowe Price-advised accounts, and Sixth Street Growth participating |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2026-02-21 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Series L | 2026-02-09 | $134.0B | Led by Insight Partners, Fidelity Management & Research Company, and J.P. Morgan Asset Management; a separate $2B debt facility (part of the >$7B total package) was led by JPMorgan Chase Bank, N.A. |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2025-09-30 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Series K | 2025-08-19 | $100.0B | Not officially disclosed by Databricks; secondary/aggregator reporting (unconfirmed by tier-1 press) names co-leads Andreessen Horowitz, Insight Partners, MGX, Thrive Capital, and WCM Investment Management |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2025-05-27 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Series J | 2024-12-17 | $62.0B | Co-led by Thrive Capital, Andreessen Horowitz, DST Global, GIC, Insight Partners, and WCM Investment Management |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2023-11-03 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2023-09-14 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2022-09-30 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2021-08-31 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2021-02-01 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2019-10-22 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2019-01-11 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2017-08-03 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2014-06-06 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
| Undisclosed round (SEC Form D) | 2013-09-11 | — | Not disclosed -- SEC Form D lists only the company's own officers/directors, not the investor(s) |
No upcoming rounds currently reported.
These are on the public record as giving exposure to Databricks. Buying one means owning a stake in the vehicle, not in Databricks, and the vehicle takes fees along the way.
| Vehicle | How you get exposure | Share of the vehicle | Who can buy |
|---|---|---|---|
| BlackRock Science and Technology Term Trust Listed closed-end fund | Held directly | 13.50% of the fund | Anyone with a brokerage account that can trade US-listed shares. |
| BlackRock Science and Technology Trust Listed closed-end fund | Held directly | 4.54% of the fund | Anyone with a brokerage account that can trade US-listed shares. |
| Fundrise Innovation Fund, LLC Non-listed closed-end fund | Held directly | 2.99% of the fund | US investors, through the sponsor's platform. Not exchange-traded. |
| ARK Venture Fund Interval fund | Held directly | 2.23% of the fund | US investors, through brokers that carry the fund. Not exchange-traded. |
| Destiny Tech100 Inc. Listed closed-end fund | Through a wrapper via DA-1125 Gaingels Fund II; MCTC Investment Holdings | 1.20% of the fund | Anyone with a brokerage account that can trade US-listed shares. |
| Stableton Morningstar PitchBook Unicorn 20 Certificate or fund, by country | Through the index it tracks one of 19 constituents of Morningstar PitchBook Unicorn 20 Index | — | Not published |
On the public record means the vehicle exists in a regulatory filing or a public product document. It does not mean PrePost has vetted it, or checked that it suits you. What each of these really is, and what comes off your return, is in the instruments primer.
Ordered by how much of the vehicle this company is, never by payment. How we stay independent.
| Status | S-1 Not Filed |
|---|---|
| Kalshi | ~50/50 odds by Sep 4, 2027 (as of Sep 13, 2026 · market) |
| Timing | 2027 (earliest plausible, per CEO) |
| Notes | CEO Ali Ghodsi says Databricks still intends to go public eventually but is prioritizing AI investment now given abundant private capital; called 2026 'a terrible year to go public' given a crowded IPO calendar. |
| Source | CNBC, Aug 2026 |
Polymarket/Kalshi rows are live market-implied odds, not a PrePost prediction; everything else is a cited news signal. PrePost doesn't publish its own IPO forecast.